The night before last I was looking at foodgawker.com and saw some corn fritters, so I decided to take a stab at em.  I didn’t use a real recipe, I just sort of made it up as I went.  Here is what I got.

2 Cans of Whole Kernel Corn

1 Egg

1/2 Cup Yellow Cornmeal

3 Heaping Tbs. White Flour

4 Tbs. Milk

A couple sprinkles of Garlic Salt

A couple sprinkles of Onion Powder

A couple sprinkles of Pepper

Drain the corn first, then add to a large bowl.  Mix all of the ingredients together, except the milk.  Slowly add the milk as needed for consistency.  The corn batter should stick together slightly.

Heat a skillet with 1/2 margarine and 1/2 vegetable oil.

Use a heaping table spoon of batter for each cake, and flatten once in skillet.  Cook until each side is golden brown.

DSCN3294

They were delicious, and definitely worth the calories.

I love southern cooking, it really keeps the fat in there. 🙂

Here’s how they should look:

DSCN3301

If you try my recipe, let me know how you like it, or any of my recipes for that matter.

And, if you have any recipes of your own for this, or anything else you’d like me to try out, Send me an email at BananasBlog@hotmail.com

I hope to hear from you (whoever “you” are) soon.

Really, really, soon, because NO ONE has emailed me yet, and I am starting to wonder if I am “blogging” to myself? I sure hope not!

